A few of my favourite things..

New Toys!

lindt gold bunny

What could be better than being presented with a dark chocolate Lindt bunny by the sweetest man alive?   I have to tell you.

The man who lights up my life and brings me joy, despite a work schedule that would make a lesser man blanch, yesterday put all on hold; navigated through an hour and a half of nasty traffic; and presented me with……..(drum roll)

Sigma 10-20 mm F4-5.6

Sigma 10-20 mm F4-5.6

..a new wide angle lens!  Hooray!

If that would not be cause enough for excitement in a girl as prone to it as I am, he also bought me sets of filters which right along with my new lens, I am completely lacking in knowledge about.  But I am so going to have fun learning!

The icing on the cake?  No, it wasn’t the little screw on ring things that came to hold the business together – it’s difficult to get excited about that kind of hardware, though I’m sure it’s important.  But the presenter of all these good treats has a burning desire to drive south and see the trees change colour; just perfect for a girl with a bundle of new toys to experiment with!

What a lovely husband I have!

two sweeties!

9 responses

  1. Congrats on the lens!! What a wonderful husband you have 🙂
    I LOOOVE Lindt chocolate!! But I prefer milk chocolate 🙂
    What kind of filters did you get?

    Like

    April 2, 2009 at 8:27 pm

  2. Milk chocolate? Pfft! It has only half the buzz 😉

    The filters are Cokin gelatin sets. One is a set of three graduated greys, which I have been looking at on the website and think I will like. I haven’t had a clue before how to deal with the over exposure in the sky on some shots, and I am guessing this will help.

    The landscape kit has a “graduated tobacco” (which I confess not only sounds gross, but the image they have showing the effect doesn’t appeal to me either) and also has a gold filter which looks pretty, and a Star 8, for those “turn your lights into sparkly things” effect. That should be fun to experiment with, but I generally tend to like things to look fairly natural.

    I actually experience a little “effects fatigue” when I browse photoblogs, and admire people who use their skill to capture a great image without photoshopping it within an inch of its life, so I will have to beware of getting carried away with the filters 🙂

    Like

    April 2, 2009 at 9:43 pm

  3. the graduated filters are wonderful to have, especially the ND filters. Soooo…the Sigma 10-20! Clint uses that lens and does so wonderfully. But, I am glad to have someone to learn wide angle with!

    Like

    April 2, 2009 at 10:03 pm

  4. I used to have a nice filter collection for my old film camera (all screw-on filters) but didn’t have any of yours except the star filter. That one is fun, especially when taking pictures of Christmas trees. But, I know how to achieve the star effect without using a filter.
    Have fun playing with them! The graduated greys should help with the sky brightness, or for overall brightness you could use neutral density filters. I’m looking into buying a couple of those, as well as a polarizer hopefully in the next few months.

    Like

    April 2, 2009 at 10:05 pm

  5. Burstmode, I will have to check out Clint’s site and see what he does with it. I feel a mild sense of panic that I haven’t had more time to play with it before we go away, in that there is some spectacular scenery where we’re headed and I just know that once I get the hang of the lens I will look back on my beginning shots and sigh over the wasted opportunities.

    I imagine it will take me a lot longer to master it than you, but I am happy to follow behind if you share what you’re learning 🙂 I have been trying to wait patiently (hard work for a person such as myself) to try out an Australian version of your mini shot. Of course, I have to have a moment or two when my husband is not driving it!

    Michaela, I don’t know what a polarizer is yet, but one of the things that came home yesterday was a big book called “EF lens work III – The Eyes of EOS”. It’s kind of like a huuuuge catalog, and I suppose I will find lots of things in there to aspire after that I didn’t previously know existed!

    Thank you both for sharing my exciting news with me 🙂

    Like

    April 3, 2009 at 6:07 am

  6. Aww, how sweet! Congrats on the new lens! 🙂

    Like

    April 3, 2009 at 12:14 pm

    • Thanks, Amber: when I recover from the packing dramas, I’m sure I’ll have lots of fun with it! (There should be a law against going on holidays with four children)

      Like

      April 3, 2009 at 8:11 pm

  7. Vimal

    🙂 some people have all the luck!

    Like

    April 4, 2009 at 10:21 pm

  8. Vimal, I have more than once thought that I am the luckiest girl in the world… 😉

    Like

    April 10, 2009 at 5:43 pm

Leave a Reply

