A few of my favourite things..

Satin Bower Bird and Fledgeling

Ptilonorhynchus violaceus female and fledgeling

We arrived at Cunningham’s Gap just before sunrise (yawn!) and saw these amazing birds.  The male was nearby, but kept his distance and always with leaves and branches between himself and my camera.

The startling colour of the eyes is as the picture came straight from the camera: they really are remarkable.  In the pre-dawn light they appeared more violet than blue, but no less striking.

I would like to have found the nest:  bower birds being collectors of things blue I’m sure it would have been an interesting find.  But Cunningham’s Gap was the first stop on a long journey, and as it was, Mr BB had to rescue me from a leech which would have made a meal of me had it realised that my sheepskin boot it was latched on to was long dead.

6 responses

  1. Wow, those BLUE eyes really stand out!

    Like

    April 14, 2009 at 8:27 pm

  2. Vimal

    i agree – they do 😀

    Like

    April 14, 2009 at 9:23 pm

  3. Yes they do! Incredible!

    Like

    April 15, 2009 at 8:54 am

  4. Oh I’m glad they still appear so. I am always a little disappointed when I post something where the colour matters. On my computer an image can look very vibrant, and then when I upload it to the site, it looks a little flat. In the original photo, her eyes look backlit!

    Like

    April 15, 2009 at 11:48 am

  5. april

    crazy eyes and great twigs …

    Like

    April 23, 2009 at 3:48 pm

  6. April, thanks for taking the time to look at my pictures today, and for making the effort to comment.

    Like

    April 23, 2009 at 6:40 pm

Leave a Reply

