A few of my favourite things..

Photographers Share the Love (or not.)

anzac-parade

I love ANZAC day.  Our family always attends the dawn service and the parade.  This year I thought I would try my hand at recording some of my favourite images as opposed to my usual habit of crying like a goose when the old diggers go past.

The parade is normally well supported, so we decided to get there early so I could choose a vantage point to shoot from.  The confirmation that I had chosen the best spot came in the form of a rude little fat photojournalist. (I’m only just holding back from also calling him greasy, sneaky and underhanded, not to mention ungentlemanly.) He set up immediately in front of me, close enough that I could, had I had my wits about me,  were I not such a nice lady, have smacked him in the head as he deserved.  After forty minutes of standing in the sun with four children  (you need to have four children, and one of them a toddler who’s been awake pre-dawn, to understand how that ups the ante) I was a little indignant at his audacity.

My husband decided to champion me by graciously pointing out that we had been waiting a long time there, and could we not share the spot?  Apparently not.  It seems if you get paid to take photographs, you can be as rude as you like.  He replied that he wasn’t going to be there long. (Hello!  Nor was anyone else – the best of the parade passes by in the first five minutes!)

During the finale of the service that followed the parade, a similar incident occured.  The pipers were piping, I had just found a place to stand, lined up a shot, and click!  I had a blurred image of the back of the girl who climbed on the chair in front of me to get the same shot.  The pipers were finished, and I walked away wondering what sort of people take up photography for a living?  Retired pirates?

Learning about photography is fun: recording things that mean something to me or will inspire, inform or amuse others is a wonderful occupation.  While I would fain improve my skills and learn how to best capture the moment, the ruthless greed I saw yesterday was just plain scary!

10 responses

  1. Vimal

    hilarious! 😀

    love the way u’ve written it up

    🙂

    “had I had my wits about me, were I not such a nice lady, have smacked him in the head as he deserved.”

    “and I walked away wondering what sort of people take up photography for a living? Retired pirates?”

    😀

    but “we” are quite selfish, aren’t we?

    Like

    April 26, 2009 at 7:10 pm

    • Vimal!!!

      ….we? We?

      There’s no speaking in the third person on account of this little blogger: I am, I ‘d like it to be stated plainly, ever so careful not to walk in front of people taking photos whether they are using the cheapest little point in shoot in manufacture or the sort of camera that costs more than my car. Vimal, I don’t believe you would be one of those sharks. 😯

      Should it prove to be the case, ware the day I do the tourist thing in India: I’m working on Strategies!

      Uh huh. That would be Strategies for the Dealing With of Unmannerly Photographers.

      Burstmode, the umbrella is figuring largely into said strategies.

      Thank you, gentlemen, for allowing me to share that little piece of my mind.

      Chrystal, thanks for offering those encouraging words 🙂

      Like

      April 27, 2009 at 8:35 am

  2. not everyone is like that. it happens though. keep trying. i suggest taking your camera with you everywhere! you’ll be amazed at the images you can get 🙂 Best of luck
    -Crystal

    Like

    April 26, 2009 at 7:58 pm

  3. Go to Bulgaria. Get one of those umbrellas that fires darts…

    Like

    April 27, 2009 at 12:25 am

  4. Vimal

    🙂 sharks 🙂
    okay, i’ll rephrase
    “some of us” are like that.
    I wouldn’t do it either,
    but i think there’s something that makes us like that, when we’re doing it for the money.

    Like

    April 27, 2009 at 7:57 pm

  5. Hmmm. I’ll accept that, on account of I’m not doing it for the money and therefor am not able to state categorically that I wouldn’t be the same. But if I was, I don’t think I’d like myself!

    I’m relieved to hear though, that I won’t have to try my umbrella tactics out on you 😉 🙂

    Like

    April 28, 2009 at 11:33 am

  6. Vimal

    wouldn’t mind if u did – just to see what it was 😀

    umbrella tactics 🙂

    Like

    April 28, 2009 at 10:37 pm

  7. lol! Not sure I know exactly myself yet, but rest assured: it would be stylish. (and dangerous! 😉 )

    Like

    April 29, 2009 at 9:37 am

  8. Wow! I just went to a museum in Beer Sheva, Israel, commemorating the ANZAC. It wasn’t a fantastic museum, but I learned a bit about them! http://meantforsomethingbetter.com/2012/04/02/camels-and-pita/

    Like

    April 4, 2012 at 12:05 am

    • Thanks for popping by, Susan. Glad you learned something interesting while at the museum.

      Like

      April 6, 2012 at 3:28 pm

Leave a Reply

