A few of my favourite things..

Swallowtail Butterfly in Flight

papilio-anactus-dingy-swallow-tail-dainty-swallowtail

The risk was that I would go insane before capturing an in focus image of this butterfly .  We don’t get this species at home, and it really is beautiful.  However, it doesn’t rest on the leaf: its wings move constantly.  I have a lot of blurry pictures of this butterfly!

But after an hour or more of trying, I have a few good shots.  This is not one I would chose to show the butterfly, but I was just so pleased at this feat of manual focus.  It may not seem so remarkable to the rest of the world, but considering that I have not long graduated from a point and shoot, I was so excited with my fast little fingers catching this shot that I emailed it to all my longsuffering family.  In my happiness, I now inflict it on the rest of the world, but you can chose to ignore it if you wish, or roll your eyes if you find shooting butterflies easy, or turn your nose up if you think they are not an artistic enough subject.

But you know what?  There’s nothing that can diminish my satisfaction at seeing that little butterfly face – whether it’s cool photography or not. =)

8 responses

  1. This is AMAZING!! And certainly NOT easy!! I tried to capture butterflies in flight last October (and almost posted some pictures of them on my blog today!) and it’s very difficult. Even one single in focus picture is worth all the patience and countless blurry ones.
    None of mine are as good as yours.

    Like

    April 28, 2009 at 8:53 pm

  2. Vimal

    🙂

    Like

    April 28, 2009 at 10:38 pm

  3. I think you must be a wicked (you know, the good wicked) shot.

    Like

    April 28, 2009 at 11:00 pm

  4. How the heck did you get this picture? Talk about needle in the haystack – very impressive!!!!!

    Like

    April 29, 2009 at 4:55 am

  5. Michaela, thanks for your generous words. I’d like to see the butterflies you have on your side of the world.

    Vimal! 😀

    Burstmode, remember that, if you see me coming with my brolly. 😉

    Cole, it was sheer, dogged persistence. Thanks for your visit.

    Like

    April 29, 2009 at 11:42 am

  6. WoW! How did you manage that shot! Thats incredible. I know how hard it is to focus these cute lil things. You got him with full wing span and in perfect focus. Thats something! HATS OFF! 😀
    I know persistence pays off for sure. 😉

    Like

    May 26, 2009 at 6:52 pm

  7. Thank you, Nivin. This is one of my favourites. You can almost see the mocking look on it’s little face: it knows it’s been leading me a dance!

    Like

    May 28, 2009 at 8:23 am

  8. Pingback: Bonus: Butterflies For Blue « The Daily Click

Leave a Reply

