A few of my favourite things..

Hoot…Hooot….

barn owl, tyto alba

Owls are spectacular birds!

This variety, the barn owl, is very common in Australia, but you might not know that if you don’t share my propensity for driving around the countryside with spotlights attached to your vehicle.

I thought my joy was complete when we saw a sugar glider swoop across the road above us.  I didn’t get a very good shot of this adorable little creature (he was very, very high up and a little shy!), but I was thrilled just to see one.  It is only the second time ever I have seen one outside of a zoo, and they are the dearest little things!

sugar glider

We saw frogs, nightjars, and some roosting birds.

roosting birds

There were pairs of these birds all over the tree.  When driving past, it looks like a tree with tissues scattered over it.  It is very easy to understand how cats can destroy a bird population.  The birds didn’t stir through all the flash and torch light, or me descending a gravel ditch right beside them, and I could have reached out and plucked one from the tree had I been less polite.

There is something special about observing nocturnal wildlife.  Spotlighting is one of my favourite things to do!

5 responses

  1. Truly spectacular. Lokking straight at you. Great shot! Hope you had a great night out! 😀

    Like

    May 26, 2009 at 6:40 pm

  2. OOOh!!! I love these photos! I love sugar gliders too. Anything fury is and little is already off to a good start in my affections, lol… but he is indeed cute!

    Like

    May 27, 2009 at 8:35 am

  3. Nivin, I did have a great night. When I am out exploring in the dark and I see something like this, I feel as though someone has painted a masterpiece, and I am the only one (along with my longsuffering husband and the little girls!) who is privileged to view it. It’s a pretty special feeling 😀

    Amanda, aren’t sugar gliders special? I was scandalized to read that Americans can keep them as pets. (and did I mention.. a tiny bit jealous? lol!)

    Like

    May 27, 2009 at 10:04 pm

  4. These are awesome. Are you using a pretty skookum flash or what? Solid timing, solid lighting, really cool pictures. Between the butterflies the owls and the bats, you’ve got a pretty cool niche of pictures going on here! I’ll be darned if I’ll ever get a cool pic of any of those three!

    Like

    July 10, 2009 at 1:59 pm

  5. Cole, my flash is not too shabby, but we also use spotlights hand held, and mounted on the car.

    Thanks for your comments. The owl is one of my favourite pictures.

    Like

    July 12, 2009 at 9:44 pm

Leave a Reply

