A few of my favourite things..

Not. So. Cuddly….

Echidna face and claws

This spikey creature wandered through my country friend’s property.  Knowing how much I love wildlife, and that my children would enjoy seeing it, and that I would want to photograph it, my very brave friend caught it for me.

echidna

In view of his shielding quills, is not my friend a woman of valour?!!  While echidnas are not aggressive, their defenses are not to be trifled with.

wild hairdo

stepping out

burrowing, good bye echidna!

Their strength is surprising.  The burrowing away was a very speedy business.

Now, if someone would just catch me a platypus….  😀

10 responses

  1. That’s a beautiful little creature. It looks like it is an insect eater, perhaps termites or ants? Nice shots, you caught the eyes wonderfully.

    Like

    June 1, 2009 at 9:42 am

  2. ah, yes, if I read your tags, I would know what it ate!!

    Like

    June 1, 2009 at 9:43 am

  3. Aww, what a cute little thing!
    What a brave friend you have… that was very sweet of her to catch it for you.

    Like

    June 1, 2009 at 9:58 am

  4. What a wonderful friend… and a fantastic opportunity! Yes, I would LOVE to see platypus photos!!!

    Like

    June 1, 2009 at 9:54 pm

  5. Thanks, Burstmode. It cost me a lot of green ant bites to get those little eyes!

    Michaela, Amanda, she is a lovely person to have thought of me in that way and to have tackled those quills! Thanks for your comments.

    Like

    June 2, 2009 at 7:04 am

  6. haplesshousewife

    Been back and forth and meant every time to say how much I love these photos.

    Like

    June 12, 2009 at 8:50 am

  7. Thank you! And thanks for taking the time to comment 🙂

    Like

    June 12, 2009 at 10:08 pm

  8. Cool pictures! These little guys have awesome backs – if there lived any in Vancouver I’d try to get a picture of their backs and make it black and white – I always that that’d make for a wild picture!

    By the way, I’m yet to get a picture of a flying butterfly. I think of that amazing picture you took each time I see one but I’m not having any luck at all!!!!

    Like

    June 17, 2009 at 2:26 pm

  9. Cole, keep going with those butterflies (pesky little things they are) – I\’d love to see what sorts you have in Vancouver =)

    I did take a couple of shots of his back, and I did try some in black in white (though the face shots, not the back). What do you think? May I send you a couple and see how you would process them? I couldn\’t seem to make them sing.

    Like

    June 17, 2009 at 7:47 pm

  10. Hats off!!! for your friend! Amazing creature!

    Like

    July 29, 2009 at 12:12 am

Leave a Reply

