A few of my favourite things..

Queenstown

Christchurch

I thought that a two hour wait between flights would  involve a lot of sitting around.  Not so!  Certainly not if you enter New Zealand with a set of hiking boots in each of your six (!) suitcases and you declare that you have visited a farm in the last 30 days.  It was an exercise in patience to unpack each of those six suitcases before the airport audience, pull out all the hiking boots, have them inspected, treated, and returned good and clean (and WET) to pack back into the cases.  That all pretty much covered the two hours nicely.

mountains

New Zealand, at least the little bit of it we’ve seen, is a place of  magnificent beauty.  I will never joke about it being just  another southern state of Australia again.  It really is unique. 🙂

the lake

This lake is across the road from where we are staying:  the mountains are “The Remarkables”.

lake and mountains

I wish we had planned to spend more time here.  So far we have been very busy with the activities our hosts had planned for us (which have been great), but I yearn to explore some of the heritage listed national parks in the area.

Today we spent the day  at the snowfields.  It was cold.  It’s very, very cold here!

remarkables

I hope to catch up with everyone when I get home.  🙂

11 responses

  1. Amanda

    Beautiful photos Mrs BB… you are whetting my appetite for my upcoming trip! Whilst we won’t be venturing to Queenstown this visit, the whole country is absolutely beautiful so I am counting down the weeks till we go… :o) Thanks for posting some piccies!

    Like

    September 6, 2009 at 10:12 pm

  2. Very nice photography. Enjoyed your tour. Wish I could see more!

    Like

    September 7, 2009 at 2:52 am

  3. What a beautiful place!! Please say that you’ll be posting many more photos, I would love to see (and read!) more.
    How long are you staying?

    Like

    September 7, 2009 at 9:38 pm

  4. Fee

    Oh now I’m SERIOUSLY homesick. I always feel quite happy in Oz … until I seem pictures of NZ scenery – then I just want to be home (but without the cold!). Hope you are having a wonderful holiday. Make a snow angel for me.
    Fee 🙂

    Like

    September 8, 2009 at 1:22 am

  5. Fee

    Oops … that should have read “see pictures of NZ scenery”. Fee 🙂

    Like

    September 8, 2009 at 1:22 am

  6. Thanks for your comments, everyone. Amanda, you will seriously love it here, providing it is not raining. Some of our group came over early and had rain for the whole week, and other friends who were here for 6 weeks had rain for 5 of those. I guess you can’t maintain such a gloriously green place without rain. We have been so grateful for fine weather for our short stay!

    Fee, it’s spectacular! I haven’t found those chocolate fish yet..

    Michaela, we have the last corporate function this evening, then we go home tomorrow. I truly wish we had been a little more organized before coming and planned to extend our stay: I just had no idea how much I’d like it here!!

    Burstmode, I wish I could see more, lol! Oh for a car, another month, and the baby carrier!

    Like

    September 8, 2009 at 9:54 am

  7. Definitely remarkable! Beautiful mountains 😀 Waiting for more 😉

    Like

    September 10, 2009 at 7:39 pm

  8. Vimal

    These are lovely shots!
    🙂 Hard not to be jealous

    Like

    September 10, 2009 at 10:27 pm

  9. Nivin, thanks. By the time I’ve sorted my pics from this trip, I suspect my Urban Daisy visitors will be tired of mountains – remarkable or not 😀

    Vimal, ta! It was a great week!

    Like

    September 11, 2009 at 9:54 am

  10. Who could tire of that scenery? It’s beautiful!

    Like

    September 27, 2009 at 6:25 pm

  11. I’d never tire of the scenery, but the weather may lose it’s novelty after a bit 😉

    Like

    September 28, 2009 at 11:22 am

Leave a Reply

