A few of my favourite things..

Leapin’ Sheep!

I would never have credited such a bulky, heavy creature with the agility to leap as this sheep did.

They were penned for shearing, but after some mechanical difficulties with the clippers, the project had to be abandoned for the day.

Releasing the sheep was a challenge.Β  While I was lined up specifically to try and catch them leaping (as I had been warned they would), the wee beasties were so terrified of my camera they simply would not go past me.

After I moved a long way down the paddock, and thus was forced to have the star picket in the picture, they finally braved it.

Cute little things, sheep.

8 responses

  1. When you really look at them, they are odd things…I suppose they leap out of happiness?

    Like

    December 7, 2009 at 12:42 am

  2. Anonymous

    caught in mid-air
    πŸ˜€
    the wool looks nice too

    do you’ll have those rabbits that have thick coats there?
    I’ve seen some here, the wool (if that’s what’s it’s called) is very fine. And expensive.

    Like

    December 8, 2009 at 1:17 pm

  3. vimal

    oops. the previous comment was from me.

    Like

    December 8, 2009 at 1:18 pm

  4. Fee

    Baaaa-humbug. They were obviously feeling a bit sheepish?!

    Leapin’ sheep doesn’t quite have the same ring as Leapin’ lizards does it?! Cute pic though Mrs BB.

    Fee πŸ™‚

    Like

    December 8, 2009 at 11:40 pm

  5. Amanda

    They are very ready for shearing, that much is obvious, lol…

    I love leapin’ lambs better. Now they are cute! πŸ˜€

    Like

    December 9, 2009 at 11:23 am

  6. Burstmode, I can’t pretend to know a lot about sheep, but my observation on this occasion was that they were decidedly more terrified than happy: the sheep equivalent of womanly hysteria, if you will. Sheep are very, very camera shy.

    Vimal, I think you may mean angora rabbits? I don’t know if we have them in Australia. In most of Australia you are allowed to keep rabbits as pets, but because they are not native, and a pest to farmers, there is a $30,000 fine for keeping them in Queensland. So.. if people keep them, they are VERY quiet about it.

    I would love a bunny, but $30,000 for a bunny fine? no. 😯

    Fee, you funny girl! Leapin’ Lizards – I must find where that expression has it’s origins. I mean, have you ever seen a lizard leap? πŸ˜€

    Amanda, yes, these poor girls were a little overdue for some serious hairdressing. The lambs…they are adorable!

    Like

    December 10, 2009 at 9:16 pm

  7. Fee

    Seriously, a $30,000 fine? Mind you, having seen the holes our rather LARGE/GIANT pet bunny digs (longer than your arm!) – I’m not really surprised. Not to mention the breeding thing!

    Fee πŸ™‚

    Like

    December 10, 2009 at 10:36 pm

  8. Fee, seriously. I blinked a few times when I read the fine had been increased. Last time I checked, it had been $1,000, which I thought was a little dramatic. $30,000 takes it to the…. melodramatic!

    You’d have to really, really love bunnies…

    Like

    December 13, 2009 at 9:17 pm

Leave a Reply

