A few of my favourite things..

Horses for Courses

Friends of my Bluestockings blog may recall the report of one of our more adventurous days where we were introduced to a barn owl, borrowed five turkeys, and several other out of our ordinary life happenings.

Late afternoon we went exploring the creek after a thunderstorm, arriving at a neighboring property to find the owner bottle feeding a new born foal.  It was just three hours old.

I didn’t have my camera at the time (it had been too wet to take it out) but we returned next day to see how the owner and the foal had fared during the night. Suffice to say I am grateful I don’t have all night vigils in the rain, expressing milk from reluctant maiden mares!

As the property is used to breed race horses, there were foals everywhere.  It was little girl heaven. 😀

8 responses

  1. The second picture is so sweet!! ♥
    I will have to tell Melissa about these, she loves horses.

    Like

    December 10, 2009 at 9:37 pm

  2. Fee

    I love that second picture too. There’s something about foals isn’t there? I’m definitely not showing this to Miss Boo – she’ll want to know when we can get one at our place!

    Fee 🙂

    Like

    December 10, 2009 at 10:37 pm

  3. vimal

    i like the first pic 🙂

    has that “something special” quality

    Like

    December 11, 2009 at 12:55 pm

  4. Mr Bluesocks

    Wonderful photos my sweetheart. I can understand your obsession with farm life. These photos capture a marvellous picture of how fragile and compelling, how precious and powerful, the birth of new life is. How much more so, that which is made in God’s image. We have some lovely treasures that we share together.

    Like

    December 11, 2009 at 7:59 pm

  5. Michaela, Fee, there is something about girls and horses. Mine all think they want a horse, but I wonder – how long would it last? It’s a very big something to have wandering around once the novelty wears off!

    Vimal – I’m glad you like it. It was one of those ones where I wondered if it would be just me 🙂

    Mr Bluesocks 😀

    Indeed we do, indeed we do. (or should I write that four times?)

    Thanks for visiting.

    Like

    December 13, 2009 at 9:11 pm

  6. Fee

    Well Angus wanted a cow for a while and was trying to convince me that we had HEAPS of room in our back yard for a cow. After all, we had a GIANT rabbit already! Thankfully, I made him see sense … eventually … and after seeing a cow up close and personal at our friend’s farm, I think he could see the error of his ways. Did I mention we live on an 800m2 block of land?!
    Fee 🙂

    Like

    December 17, 2009 at 1:44 am

  7. Amanda

    What a little darling! So beautiful…

    btw, I love the name “Mr Bluesocks”. It gave me a chuckle 😀

    Like

    December 17, 2009 at 4:09 pm

  8. Fee, I received quite a shock myself, when I saw a cow close up for the first time. Rather large beasties, aren’t they? And think of the rather large ..cow droppings you would have landmining your back yard 😯

    Amanda, Mr Bluesocks did inspire a little chuckle here, too 😉 (Fancy not wanting to be Mr Bluestockings?!)

    Like

    December 18, 2009 at 5:29 am

Leave a Reply

