A few of my favourite things..

A Quiet Place..

..to explore.

14 responses

  1. Amanda

    How beautiful… I could feel the crisp air and the fresh coolness.

    Like

    January 14, 2010 at 5:09 pm

  2. So beautiful! It looks quiet and peaceful.
    What season is it right now, summer?

    Like

    January 14, 2010 at 9:39 pm

  3. Amanda, it was a lovely place. The crisp regularly turned to soggy (it rained on and off all week!) but even with that, it was a glorious place to stay.

    I know you will appreciate the joy this brought me, but I saw for the first time ever in the wild…. a real platypus!! It lived in the pool of the creek just a minutes walk from where we stayed, and I could watch the pool from the verandah. Bliss!!

    I didn’t get a good photo of it – the pool was overhung with trees and the platypus came out at dusk and dawn, so the light was bad and the platypus moved fast – a combination to foil my beginner photographer skills. But, Oh! It was pretty exciting!

    Now, I just have see a wombat and my joy will be complete 😀

    Michaela, it is smack in the middle of a very hot summer here, so we went south for this holiday to some cooler weather. I’m loving your snow pictures!

    Like

    January 15, 2010 at 8:33 am

  4. Ah! I THOUGHT it was summer in your little corner of the world 🙂
    How exciting that you saw a platypus! Hoping to see the picture on your blog some day.

    We really enjoyed the snow. Unfortunately we have to go waaay north to see any of it. Real snow anyway, not the powdering we might get here if we’re lucky.

    Like

    January 15, 2010 at 8:50 am

  5. Vimal

    picturesque 😀

    Like

    January 15, 2010 at 1:18 pm

  6. Fee

    That looks so serene and beautiful. I wish I had a spot in my backyard just like that – where I could go and hide out when everyone wants a piece of me (or when I have to referee AGAIN over whose turn it is to hold the kitten). Sigh.

    Thanks for sharing a little slice of beauty and serenity Mrs BB. Perhaps I could make it my screensaver?!

    Fee x

    Like

    January 16, 2010 at 9:45 pm

  7. Beautiful!

    Like

    January 18, 2010 at 4:17 am

  8. Amanda

    You SAW a playtpus! Yayyy! I looooovvvve those cute little creatures… I love Otter’s too….they are just so funny and adorable. There’s one for your list of ‘Must See’, lol

    What is the deal with the Calender 2010?? What’s the password? lol. Can’t stand the curiosity any longer 😛 No good posting any delightful photos if we can’t see them 😉

    The place you stayed at sounds gorgeous. Where about did you go? Was it in NSW?

    Like

    January 18, 2010 at 8:29 am

  9. Michaela, we also would have to travel a long way (though south! ) to see snow. The places we stay in summer do have snow in winter – we go there in our worst heat to escape to their milder climes 😀

    Vimal – Ah! it was. We decided there would be something in becoming hillbillies, getting a porch and a dog, and watching the grass grow. 😀

    Fee, I have a landscape version of this shot as my screen saver in an attempt to remind me that I have been on holidays. It’s amazing how fast the feeling evaporates without a little visual reminder!

    Amber, thanks for your visit 🙂

    Amanda, Otters?! I think it may be a while before I am in a position to observe those treasures 😀

    There is no great mystery with the Calendar post, you funny girl! You will have seen many of the photos anyway. I have an opportunity to supply a photo for a commercial calendar, and the truth is I have no idea how to send an email of thumbnails.

    So, I thought I would post the possibles here and send a link. The reason I left it password protected was because I hadn’t then thought of posting them all low resolution, and there is two photos in there that I really like and would rather watermark before posting in general, as I have had a bit of a drama with a photo being misappropriated for this same use.

    But you are quite welcome to look: the password is Kerry.

    The place we stayed was gorgeous. It was in the New England area of NSW, had 6kms of creek frontage, rather in the middle of nowhere, heaps of bird life and native animals… perfect for a nature loving bunch like us 😀 I’d love to live somewhere like that – if only they could get high speed broadband, of course 😉

    Like

    January 18, 2010 at 11:23 am

  10. Amanda

    Mrs BB, thank you for your lovely and very polite explanation lol… I just reread my comment and thought I might I have sounded a little ‘demanding’ lol! Forgive me my sweet friend 😉

    I am not surprised your photos are sought after. Not one bit. How rewarding for you… I just ask of you, this one thing. Don’t forget us, the loyal fans of your blog (since it’s humble beginnings), when you join the ranks of Ken Duncan. Ok? Just remember, we found you first 😀 lol… (but I’m serious 😉 )

    Like

    January 18, 2010 at 10:56 pm

  11. Oh, you darling! You are too funny 😛

    As if I would mind sharing it with you!!

    Ha!

    (Goes off to bed, still laughing about her ‘demanding’ friend… 😛 )

    Like

    January 18, 2010 at 11:04 pm

  12. Amanda

    Mrs BB, remember how we used to have cows at our back door? Well, now we have dolphins!!! Yes, that’s right, dolphins!

    We moved about a month ago to a little seaside township called Flying Fish Point. I used to include many photos of this dear little place on my blog. It is about 6 km’s from the main street of Innisfail.

    Our backyard is right on the ocean front. And, it has a gorgeous big deck. This morning I woke up to, not only the sound of the waves rolling in, but to my husband calling me to look at the dolphins swimming right in our back yard. Well, not on the ‘ground’ part, but the ocean part lol.

    I have to send you a photo of our back yard. It is absolutely beautiful. Palm trees, bright blue water and wonderful serenity. And, dolphins. 😀

    Like

    January 19, 2010 at 7:56 am

  13. Quiet beautiful 🙂

    Like

    January 20, 2010 at 3:14 am

  14. Nivin, thanks for visiting! Hope married life is truly blissful 😀

    Amanda – a verandah and dolphins!!!!

    It sounds dreamily perfect! Not that I’m jealous, no, who could be? Living as I do in the beautiful, hot, muggy, grubby, inner city? 😛

    Dolphins to watch… I don’t think I’d get much else done 😀

    Like

    January 20, 2010 at 7:18 am

Leave a Reply

