A few of my favourite things..

Underground

( I know it’s blurry.  But there really is nowhere to stop and put up a tripod!)

I am not, NOT, a tunnel person.  I don’t do low, underground car parks; and something that is under a river, and 4.8km long,  is definitely out.

When Mr BB (heartlessly) drove through this one with me as a (helpless) passenger, I thought I did well.  I was being an example to the four chicklettes in the back, and tried not to whimper.  However, when Mr BB informed me that we would have to turn and go back through it, (yes, again!)  well!  Goodbye mild mannered Mrs BB.

Folks, while I survived the Clem7, it’s unnatural.  I really can only be happy when I can see sky. 🙂

10 responses

  1. oddly, I love tunnels. I love driving through them. Glad you got these photos.

    Like

    April 9, 2010 at 3:50 am

  2. I think the blurryness ADDS to the photos.
    I’d rather go through tunnels (just as long as traffic keeps moving) then go over a bridge!

    Like

    April 9, 2010 at 5:06 am

  3. I am with you on this one (when am I not? lol)… being up North, I haven’t had the ‘pleasure’ of the Clem 7 😉

    I am also very tense when going over a bridge. Big or small, I don’t like the feeling. This stems from seeing a news story when I was in primary school. A bridge in Tassie (I think) collasped and I saw cars dangling by their rear tyres. Others of course went straight into the river. 😯 Put me off bridges for life.

    Like

    April 11, 2010 at 11:03 pm

  4. Vimal

    the first one’s great 🙂

    doesn’t look that blurry either

    “I really can only be happy when I can see green.”

    Like

    April 12, 2010 at 10:40 pm

  5. Burstmode, you love tunnels? Unnatural man. Unnatural…

    Michaela, bridges don’t phase me, except those horrible rope, wobbly ones you have to walk over while looking down to the depths of a rocky gorge. Nasty, those type.

    Amanda, our brain sharing is getting spooky 😛

    At mum’s on Friday, her neighbour, who is from Tasmania, was telling about that very bridge disaster. A large ship went to go under it, and hit one of the supporting bridge posts (forgive my un-engineer-ish descriptions!) and caused the bridge to collapse. The cars at the start of the bridge were unaware of the disaster so kept entering, which pushed more of the cars ahead, over.

    I’d never heard of it before, and here you are! She also shared about the dangling cars. Now, they close the traffic off if a large ship is going under it. (shudder!)

    Vimal..

    “I really can only be happy when I can see green.”

    😀

    Like

    April 13, 2010 at 4:02 pm

  6. Mrs BB, it is very uncanny… all this timing of thoughts and conversations! How amazing! The Lonestar, and birthday comment, and now this!

    Yes, that is exactly what happened. You jogged my memory as to the cause of the collapse. It was very frightening for me to see the news footage at the time, and I have never forgotten the image of those cars dangling, and plunging into the river. Eeeek! Too scary and tragic! If I was in such a predicament (heaven forbid!) I would die a thousand deaths before hitting the water, or be fortunate enough to be rescued from the dangling car.

    Like

    April 13, 2010 at 9:49 pm

  7. Amanda, I can’t say I’m sorry that I missed that news story. I don’t actually remember anything from my childhood that was a major event. As an adult, the news stories that effected me most horribly have been the trade centres (came home from the gym to see the 11pm news, and people were jumping from the building – horrible!), the bushfires last year, and (I know this really doesn’t compare, but who can say why some things effect you more than others?) an oil spill on the Barrier Reef about 15 or so years ago.

    Like

    April 16, 2010 at 5:17 pm

  8. Yes, September 11 was an event that has scarred everyone and forever seared into their memories… the scenes on the news, the sinking realisation that this was no accident etc.

    The oil spill on the Barrier Reef? Wow, I would hate to count the amount of them that have happened. Even the one only this week (or last week?). I hate those too. Makes me mad. Much makes me mad these days, regarding our beautiful planet, and His creation.

    Like

    April 18, 2010 at 8:11 pm

  9. illusion continues.. I would say its perfectly blurred.

    Like

    April 20, 2010 at 4:27 am

  10. Amanda, I didn’t know about the most recent oil spill – a result of my media hibernation! I can’t bear to watch those kind of stories. 😦

    Nivin, you’re too kind.

    Like

    April 21, 2010 at 1:11 pm

Leave a Reply

