A few of my favourite things..

Learning curves

This is Sarah.  She’s a gymnast, and a model, and brave enough to  be photographed by 30 or so people at once, during a recent photography workshop. I have a new respect for models – they seriously work hard!

The workshop was held by Michael Hills, proprietor of EM photography and a very delightful gentleman.  He donated his time and considerable talent to teach us about portraiture; providing models, as well as a hair and makeup artist.

The prospect of attending the day, knowing that there would be quite a few people to whom photography is a business venture more than a hobby, and that of those who have it as a hobby, I would possibly be the most novice, was daunting to say the least.  But… I learned a lot.

One of several exercises we tried was to photograph the second model,  Teya, anticipating the apex of her jump, and so have her face in focus for the split second when she is suspended in the air.

One result of attending the workshop has been that I have since been shooting mostly using aperture priority.    This has led to a degree of freedom in portraiture, for sure, that I have not previously enjoyed.  I confess, though, that I am still grappling with my camera settings – as you will see if I can bring myself to post about my rose dilemma debacle disaster.

Learning is good.  I just wish it could be fast and painless 🙂

4 responses

  1. Nice, nice, very nice. I shoot in aperture priority the majority of the time, switching to manual only when the exposure is confused. I think you did a great job on these, especially #1.

    Like

    July 4, 2010 at 12:32 am

  2. 1 and 3 are gorgeous!!
    As for your roses…. red is a tough color for me, I don’t know why, but I do struggle with it. You need some really good light for red roses. Some shades of yellow and orange can be difficult, too.

    Like

    July 4, 2010 at 8:10 am

  3. vimal

    nice pictures 😀

    Sarah’s quite pretty…
    Or is that your superb camera work? 😛

    Like

    July 7, 2010 at 12:47 pm

  4. Michael and Michaela, thanks for your encouragement.

    Vimal, nah.. not my camera work 😉

    She is very pretty.

    Like

    July 10, 2010 at 8:41 pm

Leave a Reply

