A few of my favourite things..

Out in Front

I’ve looked and looked to see what these creatures may be, unsuccessfully.  They were at the farm we often visit, travelling slowly down the tree in a very close knot.  The farmers,  knowing my interest in all things critter-ish, suggested I take them home with me to see what they turn into, as they couldn’t furnish me with more information.  I couldn’t – because I don’t know what they eat.  It’s vexing to not be able to discover what they are.

6 responses

  1. oh, my money is on the third one from the left…you can tell he is holding back waiting for that moment…

    Like

    August 9, 2010 at 1:51 am

  2. Vimal

    creepy :-O

    how’s about calling them “white-spiked caterpillars” 😀

    Like

    August 9, 2010 at 10:05 pm

  3. Fee

    I’ll tell you what they are ….

    G*R*O*S*S!!!!!

    Hope that was helpful?

    Fee 🙂

    Like

    August 12, 2010 at 12:47 am

  4. Vimal, “white spiked caterpillars” works for me, and is MUCH more helpful than Fee’s contribution! 😛 (Ta, Fee..laughing.. )

    Burstmode, I think you might be right 😉

    Like

    August 12, 2010 at 11:01 am

  5. Fee

    Okay, sorry for being flippant. I couldn’t resist. However your mystery bugs piqued my interest, so I went searching and came across this:-
    http://outernode.pir.sa.gov.au/forestry/publications_index/forest_health_information/factSheets/spitfires_-_defoliating_sawflies

    Do you think it’s them? Fascinating …

    Fee 🙂

    Like

    August 12, 2010 at 10:54 pm

  6. Fee, bless your darling, flippant heart – it is them!!!

    Thank you, I can’t imagine how you found them: I looked and looked for them!

    I wish I had disturbed them, so I could see them “ejecting a yellowy-green, eucalyptus smelling liquid.. “

    That’s a missed opportunity 😀

    Thanks so much Fee, I was very disappointed when I couldn’t find what they became: I’m so pleased to know what they are. x

    Like

    August 12, 2010 at 11:02 pm

Leave a Reply

