A few of my favourite things..

Rainbow Lorrikeets

These colourful birds are living poolside at the Royal Pines Resort, on the Gold Coast.  I wonder if that makes them pretentious parrots?

Experimenting with my camera settings, (instead of using auto settings, as I am oft inclined to), I wonder if perhaps there needed to be a little more light on them?  I took a few shots using auto as well, (hedging my bets) and the parrots seemed to lose colour in those shots, though they had a little more definition.

3 responses

  1. vimal

    It’s a lovely shot 🙂
    The background goes well with the colourful feathers

    (the picture lookes squeezed breadth-wise on the blog. Had to open the pic to view the actual size. Or maybe it’s my tiny computer :-P)

    Like

    August 22, 2010 at 5:27 am

  2. Fee

    Wow the colours are amazing aren’t they? Pretty little things.

    Like you, I’m also trying to learn to get off “auto” on my camera. It’s a s-l-o-w process!

    Fee 🙂

    Like

    August 22, 2010 at 7:30 pm

  3. Vimal, I think this theme doesn’t suit photoblogging. When I get home, I’ll try to find something better – just been too slack to change 🙂

    Fee, recall how many times I’ve said on BB that I decline to suffer alone? Well, that’s the reason I was kind of glad to hear your learning process was slow, too. I’m glad it’s not just me! I’ve read heaps of tutorials (mostly written by men) who suggest you only have to do XYZ exercise with your camera to gain complete understanding.

    It’s a bit like when Mr BB taught me to drive. He assumed all persons were born with the knowledge of when to change gears. He couldn’t accept that I genuinely had no clue.

    Mind, if driving is the perfect analogy, it bodes ill for my camera skills :/

    Like

    August 24, 2010 at 8:24 am

Leave a Reply

