A few of my favourite things..

Who’s at Home?


It’s a possum.

He’s right where he belongs*.

He is in an old termite nest, high in a gum tree.  Last year it contained nesting kookaburras.  I dearly wanted to peek in then, never having seen baby kookaburras, but kookaburras have deadly beaks.

The possum, however, could be mild-mannered.  So I dragged, with the help of my intrepid mother, an extension ladder across the paddock at her house.  She very bravely tried to steady the ladder while I attempted the necessary acrobatics to get a shot using manual focus – which of course means no hands on the ladder.  It is a very wavery business when you are at the upper limit of a tall ladder, and the ground is a long, long way away.

After I took the shot, I told my Mama that I was going to try to touch the bundle of fur facing me.  I had no idea how it would respond, so gave Ma strict instructions that should the camera and I come tumbling down in a hurry from our great height, she was to catch the camera.  Being the sage woman she is, she told me in her most enduringly patient mother voice that it would make more sense to pass the camera back down before bearding the possum in his den.  Mothers are so practical.  🙂

The possum took the petting with good graces.  I’ve always asserted that possums are very high on cute factor.**

*By definition, “belongs” means anywhere but my ceiling!

** When they are not living, or worse, dead, in my ceiling.

7 responses

  1. Fee

    He/She is very cute indeed. Glad your possum patting experiment went without a hitch. They ARE very cute … especially baby ones!

    Fee 🙂

    Like

    May 30, 2011 at 5:42 pm

  2. look at those big, round eyes 🙂

    Like

    May 30, 2011 at 6:30 pm

  3. I think your possums look a little different than our possums? Maybe?? This one is awfully cute!

    Like

    May 31, 2011 at 8:03 am

  4. Absolutely beautiful. I love the story that accompanies this photo. How lovely, I love how you said for your Mum to catch the camera first, that’s exactly what I would have said. Love this post, it’s made my day. Brought a smile to my face. Here in Sydney, it’s so grey and miserable outside, so it was really nice to see this happy photo. Thank you for sharing the story! 🙂

    Like

    May 31, 2011 at 9:48 am

  5. Fee, I’ve only seen a baby once, and that was out spotlighting. I would like it if this one that lives at Mum’s would be kind enough to have babies for me. I’d love to see little ones!

    Vimsy, their eyes nearly always point in different directions, which makes them look a little dopey 🙂

    Michaela, I am *sure* our possums are cuter than yours. Yours are SCARY looking!! 😯

    Samantha, thank you, it’s fun to share 🙂

    Like

    May 31, 2011 at 9:29 pm

  6. Fee

    I think possums are pretty high on the cute scale – but babies (like most small creatures) are especially gorgeous – especially when they are clinging to their Mum’s back, peering over her shoulder at you.

    But now is not a good time to mention my possum socks, is it?? 😉

    Like

    June 1, 2011 at 8:52 pm

  7. Had to laugh, Fee. My mother (partly in jest) suggested that my possum troubles are a result of the possum fur scarf that followed me home from NZ.

    I don’t know how they found out…

    😉

    Like

    June 2, 2011 at 4:09 pm

Leave a Reply

