A few of my favourite things..

What’s My Subject?

Hello Bloggy friends,

Would you be so kind as to cast your artiest eyes over these two pics, and give me your thoughts on the composition, specifically, the issues of cropping and focal point.

Here is Blossy loving Angus. Β I don’t mind this shot, but something about it doesn’t feel right.


.
.
.
.

After cropping I think it has more interest, but.. does it change the subject from Blossy to Angus, or does it make it .. feel like it has no subject at all because Blossy is sharp and Angus isn’t? Β  I feel that cropping as I have makes Angus the subject (therefore he should be in focus..?)

If you’d share your thoughts on this one, I’d be grateful!

14 responses

  1. the cropping does bring Angus more into focus…
    in the original he looks blurry…

    BUT πŸ™‚

    it seems to me they are both the subject
    I assume that was why you took it…

    I think I would have taken a few other angles…
    I think the expression on Blossy’s face would have been quite a catch if you got it

    so maybe if you had taken one from the left or right trying to fit both Angus and Blossy’s facial expression in the frame
    the composition would have been more… complete…

    that’s just how I think πŸ™‚ and you asked…

    Like

    November 27, 2011 at 7:29 pm

  2. I agree, they both seem to be the subject.
    MY problem with this picture is the board across the top blocking Angus. Taking the picture from a lower angle may have avoided that, or you may have had to look for an entirely different angle.

    Like

    November 27, 2011 at 9:00 pm

  3. As much as I love horses I can’t help but feel that Blossy is more the subject, in a mysterious kind of way. I really appreciate that I can’t see her face and we only see her back. It’s cute! If only Angus were not so far away it might have been better but that’s life with a camera πŸ™‚

    The second photo which you’ve cropped seems to cut Blossy out and thereby making Angus the main subject yet there’s that dratted horizontal post cutting him off.

    Therefore my vote goes for the first photo, which is adorable. But you shooters know about photography and I am a complete newbie… so please take my 1c worth with a grain of salt.

    Like

    November 27, 2011 at 10:26 pm

  4. Thank you, both. πŸ™‚

    Vimsy, if I didn’t want your honest thoughts, yes, I wouldn’t ask – but I do/did! Thanks for sharing.

    Michaela, yes, the board.. when I was taking the shot I was really only concentrating on Blossy – she was a long way off the ground. It wasn’t until I loaded it that I thought Angus needed more limelight.

    So.. more time composing needed.

    Thanks, friends!

    Like

    December 1, 2011 at 7:31 am

  5. Did I say something wrong? Did you delete my comment BB? 😦

    Like

    December 5, 2011 at 8:45 pm

  6. Lol!!

    Would I?!?

    Let me check the spam filter…

    Like

    December 5, 2011 at 8:55 pm

  7. There you are, dear one!

    As if I would delete you!

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

    I was trying to capture the “lost in Angus” feeling of Blossy sitting there oblivious to me, and I think there is a hint of that coming through in the first one. But when I cropped, I liked how it increased the tension between the two (yes, somewhat taking the limelight off Blossy) but at the same time, it did expose more of the flaws of my composition.

    I’ve just resigned myself to acknowledging this was not one of my best thought out photography moments. πŸ˜›

    Like

    December 5, 2011 at 9:05 pm

  8. Fee

    Coming in somewhat late (because I’m good like that) … I prefer the top pic. If it were me I might try cropping a bit off the top of the photo and also on the side by Blossy’s arm so it’s a bit more snug. Do you think because that top post is “crooked” – that’s what makes it feel a bit “off”. Ahhh photography is such a fickle thing sometimes isn’t it? As always though, I love seeing your work. Fee πŸ™‚

    Like

    January 9, 2012 at 10:56 pm

  9. I don’t really think this is croppable. There are two focal points to the image, each at the edge of the frame. Cropping one or the other leaves the image flat imho. Not that it’s a problem, I think the image is good as you originally posted it!

    Like

    January 10, 2012 at 7:11 pm

  10. I was going to say, if anything I would crop the top 1/5th or so off, so the top plank of wood is as close to the top of the frame as her boots are from the bottom. You end up with a narrow image but that’s where i see the maximum balance πŸ™‚

    Like

    January 10, 2012 at 7:14 pm

  11. Fee, thanks for your input. Perhaps the crooked rail was part of the difficulty. If it’s a photo with one of my people in it, or something that I feel emotionally involved with in some way, I find myself hopelessly unable to evaluate it. But yes.. I do spend an inordinate amount of time making things “straight” – photos, the car in the parking space, and lots of things that matter even less.

    Thanks for wading in! x

    Like

    January 11, 2012 at 7:16 pm

  12. Miles!

    What a delightful surprise!

    Thanks for taking time to contribute: you know I value your view.

    Like

    January 11, 2012 at 7:22 pm

  13. Beautiful! I love the original shot best, something about it captures the reality of what you saw. Love it!

    Like

    January 31, 2012 at 4:42 pm

    • Awww… it’s Abigail! You’re so cute!!

      Thanks for coming by, I love to hear from you πŸ˜€

      Like

      February 2, 2012 at 8:58 am

Leave a Reply

