A few of my favourite things..

Strangler Fig

Today, our New Year’s Day, was delicious.

Bowl of cherries for brekker.  (Could only be improved by the addition of some King Island Dairy triple brie.. but you can’t have everything.)

A trip to Springbrook National Park to see the natural arch.  (Here, it most definitely would have been improved if I’d brought my tripod, and someone to carry it!  Must have groaned over not having it about.. oh.. a hundred times.)

Being in the Gold Coast vicinity, we hit the beach.  About half an hour of the beach completely fulfils my beachy needs, and I left Mr BB and the crowd, to read my non-school fluffy chic lit  book and eat slightly melty Lindt.

That, bloggy friends, is a perfect start to the year.

Hope yours is as glorious. 😀

7 responses

  1. Sounds like the most delightful start to a new year. But you have piqued my curiosity and as such you absolutely must tell… What is the title of the non-school, fluffy chic lit book that you are reading?

    Like

    January 2, 2012 at 8:58 am

  2. nice to read about how you spent the first day of 2012…
    mine wasn’t as eventful
    but it was restful, which was good 🙂

    the strangler fig trees in Siem Reap, Cambodia are over the top!

    Like

    January 2, 2012 at 11:52 pm

  3. That sounds like the perfect way to spend the first day of a brand new year… especially when there’s chocolate involved 😉
    Yes, what IS that book you are reading? I just finished “The Help” and “Water for Elephants”. Loved both of them, and now can’t wait to see the movies.
    Happy New Year!

    Like

    January 3, 2012 at 10:22 am

  4. Susan, Michaela..

    Girls. It’s bad enough that in a state of relaxed satisfaction I actually admitted to reading non-academic fluffy chic lit. You seriously want me to confess to exactly what degree of mind candy I was indulging in?

    Let me build my defence first, and mention that the last three books I read, the first two concurrently, were:

    Pierced for our Transgressions (a theological work defending the doctrine of penal substitution)

    Economics in One Lesson (Henry Hazlitt’s clever introduction text to the subject)

    Post Captain (the sequel to Master and Commander by Patrick O’brian)

    The first two made me think hard, the last one was blokey (though good!)

    But after the whirl of end of year family events, holidays, the ball, etc…

    I headed for (Shhh, don’t tell anyone else!) a Georgette Heyer novel.

    (wince!)

    😉

    Like

    January 3, 2012 at 9:16 pm

  5. I don’t know who that is! Off to search 😉

    Like

    January 3, 2012 at 10:48 pm

Leave a Reply

